Staff Musings

June 30, 2007

Scalzi and Buckell!

Filed under: Sci Fi & Fantasy,Store News and Events — carricee @ 3:44 am

Hey Everyone,

I am wiped out. We worked pretty hard at the bookstore today, both in our ongoing store renovation and getting ready for…

JOHN SCALZI AND TOBIAS BUCKELL!!!

Both of them have written about their upcoming appearances on their blogs, so check them out. Scalzi is some kind of blog superstar, so even though it was the first post just a couple of hours ago it’s now several posts down. Wacky blogging goodness.

So, after closing today, I wanted to work some on the science fiction section to make it presentable for the multitude of fans who will descend on the store tomorrow to meet these guys. I thought, hmm…what will make it look better than anything else I can do in a couple of hours?

So I ripped out all the carpet. All that old, icky carpet that has been there since long before we got the store is GONE. Parts of it were duct-taped to the floor, and underneath, as carpet padding, were cut up pieces of mattress covers. Not kidding at all. It’s something that’s been on our minds to do for a long time, but it’s also one of those things that, unfortunately, you kind of get used to when you see it everyday. One of our staff is going to take the old carpet to use in her garden for…something. Gardeny.

Anyway, enough about me working. What am I reading, you ask? I am reading Ragamuffin by Tobias Buckell, whom you may have heard of. It’s really good so far, and starts out a lot differently from Crystal Rain. I meant to read it before they got here but I got a new computer game accidentally, which severely cuts into my reading time. It seems to be creating a lot of parallels with current technology and political and corporate control of said technology, in a lot of interesting ways. Read it! When could I find the time to get it, you ask? Oh, I don’t know. Maybe TOMORROW. When he’s at the store. Which is Don’s Books, in Kokomo. We’ll make coffee. See you then!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.